The United States of Tara as told by her wardrobe

Here is the scoop, (I am turning into my mother) I recently found out that I am in the process of discovering and creating my identity. It is really quite enthralling, but I have a slight dilemma. Here it is. I like to match my personality accordingly with my outfits. It really isn’t as silly as you think. I will give you a few common examples.

Dress for Success: We all know that we feel our best when we look our best. Dress for Success is applicable in quite a few situations really. Test days. Interviews. Dates. Parties. Presentations. You name it. We look good. We feel good. We do good.

IDGAF: This look was most common in the latter years of highs school. Freshmen and sophomores were often teased for dressing well. Pretty twisted I think know looking back on it. But this left the trend of upper classmen dressing like hobos. IDGAF. Excuse my language, but if you dress like shit odds are you will feel like shit.

So these are my two generic examples of how outfits can dictate our personalities or at least current attitudes. Which brings me back to my original problem. I have quite the identity crisis. Here are the classifications of my current style.

Image

image found on tumblr.

Black is the New Black: Pretty much every girl I know owns significantly more items of clothing in black then in any other color. I will not lie I went through an all black phase. It wasn’t emo, it was actually pretty classy… which is why I now own over 10 LBDs. If you are ever in need to borrow, I have plenty to lend out. Black will never go out of style so I am not ready to purge these not so bright articles of clothing. Generally black will always be present in any outfit of mine.

Image

image found on tumblr.

I Actually Like This. I Am Not Trying To Be Hipster: High waisted shorts may not be the most flattering look, but they are so darn cute. I am a huge advocate of “if you’ve got it flaunt it.” This hipster look calls for more flat chested and size zero models that typically reside on the California coast. Unfortunately, I don’t fit those requirements, but I love the clothes too much to care if I fit the stereotypical hipster look. This, however, comes with a warning. Texans are less approving of this look. I find it works better for me in the land that I call home. Sweet Sweet California.

This is Trendy But Will I Ever Wear It: This is my biggest fashion crime. I have fallen into the trendy trap. Magazines are slowly deteriorating my brain cells and making me fall madly in love (for about two seconds) with various articles of clothing. In fact my closet is almost filled with clothing reflecting the ever changing trends of 2009 to 2013. I cannot pinpoint one item. But I know that there are at least three items from every year that I have purchased, hung in my closet, and never looked at it ever again.

Image

image found on pinterest.

Strat Prep: Of course I am in a sorority. When you go to TCU it is nearly mandatory. I am obsessed with the image I have of myself being in my early thirties rocking a chic Kate Spade look with elegance and class, and of course pearls. What kind of prep doesn’t wear pearls? Me. I took more of the sporty sorority prep style. Vinyard Vines. Long shirts, ugly shorts, nike shoes, and a monogrammed heart. Believe it or not, I still do not own monogram anything….yet.

I Don’t Actually Run: This look could be quite similar to the uniformed sorority look. The difference is this look can follow me back into my beautiful hometown. That is where it gets dangerous. I have to keep in mind that back in California a cute work out outfit does not consist of oversized shirts and norts. If you are going to pretend you go to the gym don’t forget to slide on your lulus and tank.

Miscellaneous: Last but not least, my closet is filled with single items that don’t quite fit into any outfits. It is usually that shirt that I try on with every pair of pants, shorts, or skirts I own and it still doesn’t quite go with any. It is that black mini skirt that I insisted on buying because I knew it would match everything, but it doesn’t fit right with anything. It is the chiffon blouse that I used to wear all the time, that doesn’t have the spunk it used to have a couple months ago. These clothes sit in my closet begging me to wear them and I feel sorry for them, but I just cant.

So do you see my dilemma here? I have about three main styles that I dress accordingly to, but I don’t know which one I find myself in more. I suppose my identity allows for more than one sense of style, but my mind wants the perfect match. I wear who I am.

One thought on “The United States of Tara as told by her wardrobe

  1. Pingback: Curly Hair | The Purged Word

Leave a Reply

